Changes to Lakapi Samoa Board of Directors

Lakapi Samoa is pleased to announce the following changes to the Board of Directors following the recent Annual General Meeting held on the 24th November 2022.

Following from the AGM, Faleomavaega Titimaea Tafua, (Apia Union) and Leaana Ronnie Posini, (Safata Union) were both elected as Upolu Sub-Union representatives as Directors in the Board.

The Vetting Committee as endorsed at the AGM convened to select two vacant positions of Independent Appointed Directors. The decision from the Vetting Committee’s deliberations, selected Faumuina Margaret Godinet-Crichton as the Finance Appointed Director, Matafeo George Latu was selected as the Commercial Appointed Director. The two Appointed Directors will serve a four year term.

Hon. Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi has been re-elected as Chairman of Lakapi Samoa, extending his tenure for another four years. The long serving Chairman of Lakapi Samoa has been re-elected by the new Board at its Special meeting held on the 1st December, 2022.

The Chairman and the Board of Lakapi Samoa would like to acknowledge and thank the outgoing Directors, Afamasaga Rico Tupa’i (Commercial), Tuiloma Sina Retzlaff (Finance), the two Upolu Sub-Union representatives, Fata Pito Malifa (Apia Union) and Fa’alogo Kapeli Fa’alogo (Siumu) for all their commitment and contribution in serving Lakapi Samoa on the Board particularly over the last several years.

Chairman Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi commented: “I am delighted and hugely challenged by the confidence entrusted by the Board to continue on the role of Chairman, working closely with the new Directors and the Management team to guide our Union through the next phase of its journey”. “2023 is a massive year ahead with Rugby World Cup as an immediate focus but also remain firm on continuing our Board’s strategic plans in growing and strengthening our teams, growing our commercial portfolio to assist ease our financial tension moving forward”.

More to explore!